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If, within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the citation, you: (1) do not request a formal hearing or; (2) withdraw 
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Administrator                                                            Date 

Number 
6222 

Fine amount reduced by 35% to $975.00 on August 
31, 2016 pursuant to Iowa Code Section 135C.43A 

Report date 
August 8, 2016   
 

Facility name 
Bethany Life   

 Survey dates 
July 11-14, 2016 

Facility address 
212 Lafayette Street   
 

  

City 
Story City, IA. 50248 

HL  

Rule or Code 
Section 

Nature of Violation Class Fine 
Amount 

Correction 
Date 

56.6(1) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
58.43(9) 
 
 
 
 
 
Iowa Code 
235E.2(3)(a) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
52.2(2)a 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

481—56.6 (135C) Treble and double fines. 
56.6(1) Treble fines for repeated violations. The 
director of the department of inspections and 
appeals shall treble the penalties specified in rule 
481—56.3(135C) for any second or subsequent class 
I or class II violation occurring within any 12-month 
period, if a citation was issued for the same class I 
or class II violation occurring within that period and 
a penalty was assessed therefor. 
 
481—58.43(135C) Resident abuse prohibited. 
58.43(9) Allegations of dependent adult abuse. 
Allegations of dependent adult abuse shall be 
reported and investigated pursuant to Iowa Code 
chapter 235E and 481—Chapter 52. (I, II, III) 
 
Iowa Code section 235E.2(3)(a) 
3. a.  If a staff member or employee is required to 
make a report pursuant to this section, the staff 
member or employee shall immediately notify the 
person in charge or the person's designated agent 
who shall then notify the department within twenty-
four hours of such notification. If the person in 
charge is the alleged dependent adult abuser, the 
staff member shall directly report the abuse to the 
department within twenty-four hours. 
 
481—52.2(235E) Persons who must report 
dependent adult abuse and the reporting procedure 
for those persons. 
52.2(2) Reporting suspected dependent adult abuse 
in facilities or programs. 
a. If a staff member or employee is required to make 
a report pursuant to this rule, the staff member or 
employee shall immediately notify the person in 
charge or the person’s designated agent who shall 
then notify the department within 24 hours of such 
notification or the next business day. 
 

     II 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

$1,500.00 
(treble fine 
$500 X3) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Upon Receipt 
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52.6 (235E) 481—52.6(235E) Separation of victim and alleged 
abuser. Upon receiving a claim of dependent adult 
abuse of a dependent adult in a facility or program, 
the facility or program shall separate the victim and 
the alleged abuser immediately and shall maintain 
that separation until the department’s abuse 
investigation is completed and the abuse 
determination is made. 
NOTE: Facilities that participate in the federal 
Medicare or Medicaid program may be subject to 
additional federal requirements regarding 
separation. [ARC 8294B, IAB 11/18/09, effective 
1/1/10] 
 
DESCRIPTION:   
 
Based on record review, interviews, and facility policy, 
the facility failed to report allegations of potential abuse 
timely to the Department of Inspections and Appeals; 
and failed to separate a staff immediately after the 
allegations of abuse for two residents (Residents #13 
and #14).  The facility reported a census of 146 
residents. 
 
Findings Include:  
 
1. The incident summary written by the Administrator 
revealed on 6/21/16 she received a note from Staff V, 
homemaker, regarding an incident that occurred of 
6/18/16. Resident #13 made repetitive comments about 
being scared. Staff V wrote she overheard Staff W, 
homemaker, telling the resident to shut up, told the 
resident to be quiet, and stated she was sick of hearing 
it. 
 
The incident summary documented Staff V witnessed 
Staff W firmly pushed down Resident #14 and pulled on 
the resident's arm. 
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During an interview on 7/12/16 at 9"17 a.m., the 
Administrator stated she did not become aware of either 
incident until 6/21/16. Staff V continued to work with 
residents on 6/19/16 and a partial shift 6/21/16 until she 
became aware of the situation.  
 
The MDS dated 6/16/16 documented Resident #13 had 
diagnoses including Alzheimer's disease and 
depression. The MDS documented the resident scored a 
3 out of 15 on the Brief Interview for Mental Status 
(BIMS) indicating severely impaired cognition. The MDS 
documented the resident required extensive assistance 
for activities for daily living. 
 
The MDS dated 4/28/16 documented Resident #14 had 
diagnoses including Alzheimer's disease and a seizure 
disorder. The MDS documented the resident had a 
BIMS score of 1 out of 15 indicating severe cognitive 
impairment. The MDS documented the resident required 
extensive assistance for activities of daily living. 
 
During an interview on 7/12/16 at 2:00 p.m. Staff V 
stated she did not report what she witnessed to the 
charge nurse. She stated on 6/19/16 she called Staff T, 
household coordinator, to report the 2 incidents. She 
stated she should have reported to the charge nurse 
immediately. 
 
During an interview on 7/12/16 at 2:32 p.m. Staff T 
stated she received a call from Staff V. Staff V told her 
she witnessed Staff W yell at Resident #13 and pull on 
Resident #14's arm. Staff T stated she did not report 
either incident. 
 
During an interview on 7/12/16 at 1:31 p.m. Staff X, 
registered nurse, stated she worked on 6/18/16. Staff 
had not reported either incident to her. 
 
The Abuse Prevention, Identification, Investigation, and 



Department of Inspections and Appeals 
Health Facilities Division 

Citation 
 

If, within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the citation, you: (1) do not request a formal hearing or; (2) withdraw 
your request for formal hearing; and (3) pay the penalty, the assessed penalty will be reduced by thirty–five 
percent (35%) pursuant to Iowa Code section 135C.43A (2015). 
            Page 4 of 5 
Administrator                                                            Date 

Number 
6222 

Fine amount reduced by 35% to $975.00 on August 
31, 2016 pursuant to Iowa Code Section 135C.43A 

Report date 
August 8, 2016   
 

Facility name 
Bethany Life   

 Survey dates 
July 11-14, 2016 

Facility address 
212 Lafayette Street   
 

  

City 
Story City, IA. 50248 

HL  

Rule or Code 
Section 

Nature of Violation Class Fine 
Amount 

Correction 
Date 

Reporting policy revised 5/2016 directed to report all 
allegations of abuse immediately to the charge nurse. 
The charge nurse is responsible to report the allegation 
of abuse to the Director of Nursing, Administrator, or 
designated representative. 
 
Upon receiving a report of an allegation of abuse, the 
facility shall immediately implement measures to prevent 
further potential abuse of residents from occurring while 
the facility investigation is in process.  If this involves an 
allegation of abuse by an employee, this will be 
accomplished by separating the employee accused of 
abuse from the resident alleged to be abused. 
If a staff member or employee is required to make a 
report pursuant to this section, the staff member or 
employee when he shall immediately notified the person 
in charge were a person designated agent who shall 
then notified the Iowa Department of Inspections & 
Appeals immediately and in no event later than 24 hours 
of any allegation even on a week and were holiday. 
FACILITY RESPONSE:  
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