Department of Inspections and Appeals
Health Facilities Division

Citation
Number Amended Citation — Fine amount by 35% to Report date
FC#6782 $325.00 on April 10, 2018. Pursuant to lowa Code | March 27, 2018
Section 135C.43A

Facility name Survey dates: February 19-28 2018
Harmony House
Facility address
Three Pennsylvania
Place
City MW
Ottumwa, lowa 52301
Rule or Code Nature of Violation Class | Fine Correction
Section Amount Date

Il $500 Upon
W-153 The facility must ensure that all allegations of Receipt

mistreatment, neglect or abuse, as

well as injuries of unknown source, are reported
immediately to the administrator or to other
officials in accordance with State law through
established procedures.

Guidance §483.420(d)(2)

64.33(1) ggﬁ;64.33(135C) Allegations of dependent adult
64.33(1) Allegations of dependent adult abuse.
Allegations of dependent adult abuse shall be
reported and investigated pursuant to lowa Code
chapter 235E and 481—Chapter 52. (I, 11, III)

52.2(2)a 52.2(2) Reporting suspected dependent adult abuse

in facilities or programs.

a. If a staff member or employee is required to make
a report pursuant to this rule, the staff member

or employee shall immediately notify the person in
charge or the person’s designated agent who shall
then notify the department within 24 hours of such
notification or the next business day.

235E.2(3)a 235E.2 Dependent adult abuse reports in facilities
and programs. 3.a. If a staff member or employee
is required to make a report pursuant to this section,
the staff member or employee shall immediately
notify the person in charge or the person’s
designated agent who shall then notify the
department within twenty-four hours of such
notification.

If, within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the citation, you: (1) do not request a formal hearing or; (2) withdraw
your request for formal hearing; and (3) pay the penalty, the assessed penalty will be reduced by thirty—five
percent (35%) pursuant to lowa Code section 135C.43A (2015).

Page 1 of 5

Administrator Date



Department of Inspections and Appeals

Health Facilities Division
Citation

Number
FC#6782

Section 135C.43A

Facility name
Harmony House

Amended Citation — Fine amount by 35% to
$325.00 on April 10, 2018. Pursuant to lowa Code

Report date
March 27, 2018

Survey dates: February 19-28 2018

Facility address

Place

Three Pennsylvania

City

Ottumwa, lowa 52301

MW

Rule or Code
Section

Nature of Violation

Class

Fine

Correction

Amount Date

DESCRIPTION:

Based on interviews and record review the facility
failed to ensure staff immediately reported allegations
of potential abuse in accordance to facility policy.
This affected 1 of 1 client (Client #£1) involved in
investigation 73810-M. Finding follows:

Record review on 2/19/18 revealed a facility self-
report submitted on 1/15/18. According to the self-
report, Developmental Assistant (DA) A reported DA
B encouraged Client #1 to engage in self-injurious
behavior of hitting himself. She further reported when
DA B told Client #1 to hit himself the client followed
the direction. DA B responded by laughing and
encouraged DA A to watch. The incident occurred on
1/8/18. The investigation file documented staff
completed a written statement on 1/12/18. The
investigation summary documented the Administrator
was notified on 1/15/18.

When interviewed on 2/21/18 at 9:30 a.m. DA A
stated she reported a concern to her supervisor on
1/12/18. She stated on 1/8/18 sometime between the
hours of 4:45 p.m. - 5:20 p.m. DA B asked her if she
wanted to see something. When she responded
affirmatively, DA B told Client #1 to hit himself and the
client responded by hitting himself in the head. DA B
said "again, again and again" and the client hit
himself in the head again. DA A stated she
reassured the client he did not need to hit his head
and the staff made no further comment to the client.
DA A stated she did not know DA B's intentions but
had the impression the staff thought it was funny.
She was concerned about the situation but did not
immediately report it because she was unsure of who

If, within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the citation, you: (1) do not request a formal hearing or; (2) withdraw
your request for formal hearing; and (3) pay the penalty, the assessed penalty will be reduced by thirty—five
percent (35%) pursuant to lowa Code section 135C.43A (2015).

Page 2 of 5

Administrator

Date




Department of Inspections and Appeals
Health Facilities Division

Citation
Number Amended Citation — Fine amount by 35% to Report date
FC#6782 $325.00 on April 10, 2018. Pursuant to lowa Code | March 27, 2018
Section 135C.43A
Facility name Survey dates: February 19-28 2018
Harmony House
Facility address
Three Pennsylvania
Place
City MW
Ottumwa, lowa 52301
Rule or Code Nature of Violation Class | Fine Correction
Section Amount Date

to contact and DA B had worked at the facility longer
than her. DA A stated because the situation
continued to bother her, she reported it on 1/12/18 to
her supervisor.

Record review of Abuse Prevention, Training and
Investigations Policy last revised on 8/24/16 revealed
the following protocol for reporting:

Any employee would be required to report allegations
or suspicions of mistreatment, abuse or other crimes
perpetrated by any person immediately and without
hesitation directly to the person in charge of the
facility at the time. If that person was not the
Administrator, the employee would also be required
to report the allegation to the Administrator within one
hour of first becoming aware.

The Mandatory Reporting of Dependent Adult Abuse,
Crimes and other Notifications policy last revised on
8/24/16 also documented an employee or staff
member should immediately notify the person in
charge or the person's designated agent.

When interviewed on 2/20/18 at 11:50 a.m. the
Opportunity Advancement Center (OAC) Director
confirmed staff failed to immediately report an
allegation of abuse. She stated DA A informed her
on 1/12/18 about an interaction between Client #1
and DA B on 1/8/18. DA A told her she was unsure if
she should report it because the staff did not
physically interact with the client but did tell Client #1
to hit himself. DA A told the OAC Director the
interaction bothered her throughout the week and
decided to inform the OAC Director on 1/12/18.

When interviewed on 2/28/18 at 3:00 p.m. the
Administrator confirmed staff failed to report the
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incident immediately. She stated the issue was
addressed with the involved staff and staff were
currently being retrained to report any concerns
immediately to their supervisor.

FACILITY RESPONSE:
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