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W-153 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
64.33(1) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
52.2(2)a 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
235E.2(3)a 
 
 
 
 
 

 
The facility must ensure that all allegations of 
mistreatment, neglect or abuse, as 
well as injuries of unknown source, are 
reported immediately to the administrator or to 
other 
officials in accordance with State law through 
established procedures. 
Guidance §483.420(d)(2) 
 
481—64.33(135C) Allegations of dependent 
adult abuse. 
64.33(1) Allegations of dependent adult abuse. 
Allegations of dependent adult abuse shall be 
reported and investigated pursuant to Iowa Code 
chapter 235E and 481—Chapter 52. (I, II, III) 
 
 
52.2(2) Reporting suspected dependent adult 
abuse in facilities or programs. 
a. If a staff member or employee is required to 
make a report pursuant to this rule, the staff 
member 
or employee shall immediately notify the person in 
charge or the person’s designated agent who shall 
then notify the department within 24 hours of such 
notification or the next business day. 
 
235E.2 Dependent adult abuse reports in 
facilities and programs. 3.a.  If a staff member or 
employee is required to make a report pursuant to 
this section, the staff member or employee shall 
immediately notify the person in charge or the 
person’s designated agent who shall then notify 
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the department within twenty-four hours of such 
notification.  
 
DESCRIPTION: 
 
Based on interviews and record review, facility staff 
failed to immediately report allegation of 
abuse/mistreatment.  As a result, allegations of 
abuse/mistreatment were not reported to the 
Department of Inspections and Appeals in a timely 
manner.  This affected 1 of 1 client identified during 
the course of the investigation of 73924-M.   
 
Finding follows: 
 
Record review revealed the facility's investigation 
into allegations of abuse/mistreatment of Client #1.  
According to the investigation, on 1/23/18 
Residential Leader A, reported she read a text 
message from Residential Skills Trainer (RST) A 
which alleged RST C hit Client #1 the day prior 
(1/22/18).  The facility investigated the allegation.  
During the course of the investigation, RST A 
reported on 1/18/18 she requested assistance from 
other staff when Client #1 began to aggress 
towards her while in the restroom.  RST C 
responded to assist, followed by RST B.  Client #1 
continued to aggress towards RST A and RST C 
reacted by hitting and grabbing Client #1.  RST A 
described RST C described the hit as a slap to 
Client #1's forearm.  When asked why the incident 
had not been reported, RST A had no response.   
 
During the course of the facility's investigation, 
RST B also reported RST C slapped Client #1.  
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When asked why she did not report the incident, 
RST C had no response.   
 
Record review of the facility's policy regarding 
Abuse and Neglect documented any person 
witnessing a possible act of abuse is mandated by 
law and Village (Northwest Unlimited) policy to 
report it "immediately" to both a supervisor and to 
the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals. 
For reporting purposes, "immediately" means as 
soon as possible, but not to exceed 24 hours after 
discovery of the incident. Any mandatory reporters 
(all Village Northwest Unlimited employees) who 
knowingly and willingly fail to report SUSPECTED 
abuse may be guilty of a simple misdemeanor (30 
days in jail and /or $500 fine) and terminated from 
their employment at Village Northwest Unlimited. 
 
When interviewed on 2/28/18 at 11:30 p.m., 
Director of ICF/ID Services and Program Director 
confirmed staff failed to report the allegation of 
abuse/neglect as required by facility policy. She 
stated RST A sent a text to her supervisor on 
1/19/18; however, the supervisor did not get the 
message until 1/23/18. She further stated RST B 
did not report the incident at all until interviewed as 
part of the facility investigation.  She stated 
according to the policy RST A and RST B both 
should have called the on call supervisor. She 
confirmed both RST A and RST B were trained to 
report immediately and to report any and all 
allegations of abuse. She further reported as soon 
as the facility became aware of the allegation of 
abuse they reported it to the Department.  RSTs A, 
B, and C were all terminated by the facility for the 
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incident on 1/18/18.  
 
FACILITY RESPONSE: 
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